top of page

Count your Blessings

As I sit in an ER room on Mother's Day miles away from my kids running on 3 hours of sleep in 2 days, I am blessed.

As we are still waiting for my father to get moved to a room after getting bite by a copperhead, I am blessed.

As the swelling keeps coming and going and the fear of my father losing his hand creeps in, I am blessed.



I am blessed. Why? Because I choose it.


See this blessing wouldn't have been seen or chosen a few years back. This blessing for me would have been a pure moment of freak out with fear, anxiety, and all sorts of emotions. This would have been a "how can I control this situation" or "what can I do to fix it" type of moment." A few years ago, Mindfulness was some kind of weird practice where I believed you had to sit cross legged and say "ohmmmmmm" for hours. A few years ago I would have never connected breathing, awareness, or gratitude to mindfulness. A few years ago, I wouldn't have had these realizations in this event:

See this blessing wouldn't have been seen or chosen a few years back. This blessing for me would have been a pure moment of freak out with fear, anxiety, and all sorts of emotions. This would have been a "how can I control this situation" or "what can I do to fix it" type of moment." A few years ago, Mindfulness was some kind of weird practice where I believed you had to sit cross legged and say "ohmmmmmm" for hours. A few years ago I would have never connected breathing, awareness, or gratitude to mindfulness. A few years ago, I wouldn't have had these realizations in this event: am blessed as I actually get to help my Mother on Mother's Day, a woman that never ask for anything but gives everything.

I am blessed I get to watch and help one of the greatest men I know.

I am blessed we get to belly laugh to comedies to pass time while my mother continually shushes us for being too loud as we silenty nod with tears of laughter rolling down our face.

I am blessed I have a husband that takes care of the kids so I can come up here.

I am blessed that I am in the position to work for myself that I can spend days with my Father as he recovers.

I am blessed.


As I teach many people in my traninings when they see unforseen (or sometimes seen) events that cause stress, finding the blessings in that moment will reduce the cortisol or stress to the body. I talk about this resilient exercise takes practice. Just like physical muscles, our brains have "mental muscles" that need working on. But I think today I realized one thin I have missed out on telling people: Saying your blessings removes the control out of your hands. See I don't have to fix a blessing, I accept it. I don't see any negative to this situation, I see a life playing out with a purpose. I see a pause in time that allows me to reflect. I see Daddy, daughter time. I see an amazing Husband and a true Mother's day gift to my Mom. I see so much more than fear and anxiety.


So next time you are stuck in life or traffic, have to deal with drama or office politics, receive harsh news or an emergent call, say your blessings about that moment. Release and control the controllable: your attitude and outlook. And You never know that dreaded moment might be the blessing you just needed.




Sincerely,

The Blessed Child, Emily Elrod






47 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page